039 scored piston on intake

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jza

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Bit if background on the saw ...

Got it off a work mate . was a p.o.s saw needed and overhaul anyway , so I told him I'll swap it for this little 50cc chinese saw I had .

So I go about my day . Fuel it up 50:1 with stihl synthetic oil ( the red one ) .. done about 5 tanks of fuel and it starts to bog ..

I'm no expert so went to YouTube and watched a video on tuning

This is where it gets interesting. I counted the turns (clockwise ) to set them again. I got 1 turn out of low jet and when I went to seat the high I got none ... which made me really concerned...

Anyway from what I gathered from YouTube and the internet was roughly u want about 1 turn anti clockwise from being seated then go from there .

Did that , things where going good then it seized...

So my question is did it seize from being way to lean on the hi jet for 5 tanks of fuel or did I damaged it when I adjusted the carb ?

Attachments

• 20220716_150054.jpg
    20220716_150054.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 20220716_150109.jpg
    20220716_150109.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
Thanks for the reply , it makes sense . In a way I'm relieved it wasn't from me adjusting the carb but something coming in ...

I've ordered a aftermarket piston assembly . So hopefully get abit more life out of it :)

Thanks for the reply , it makes sense . In a way I'm relieved it wasn't from me adjusting the carb but something coming in ...

I've ordered a aftermarket piston assembly . So hopefully get abit more life out of it :)
Is the cylinder OK on intake side where the piston gouges are?

Look over all the bearings real well.

As above, & I'd also flush the crank case out really well... catch & inspect whatever you get out of it.