30yr old Stihl 031AV info needed

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stihl026

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am working on rebuilding a 30 year old Stihl 031av chainsaw. Can someone please send me a link to a schematic of this saw? Also, I have the saw most of the way apart. I am having a problem locating the last screw to holds the gas tank and cover on. I have taken out every one I could find, but there seems to still be on around the coil area that I can't find. I hope this saw is worth rebuilding. I use to love using it back 25 years ago, but have not used it since and it won't run anymore. It is still in great condition. I just think it needs a rebuild and I don't have a lot of other stuff to do this winter while I'm stuck in the house. Anyone agree or disagree that I should spend time trying to rebuild it? Thanks.

031av

I'm no expert, but thanks to the experts here, I was recently able to get my 031AV of the same vintage running again. In the process, I became very good at disassembling and assembling the saw!

I think the gas tank screw you're looking for (at least the one I had trouble finding) is an allen-head screw on the clutch side, in the lower left corner (as you're looking at it), near the handle. It makes no sense that it would be there, but it is. I'm sure someone here will post a link to the parts list and/or manual. Good luck--it's a great little saw when it runs right.

I spent time cleaning 30 years of grunge off of mine, and converting it from points to electronic ignition. I cleaned and rebuilt the carb, replaced the fuel line and filter, and the impulse line. My carb-to cylinder hose was okay, but they can go bad over time, too. Even with my time, parts cost, and effort, I think I spent less than an equivalent saw would have cost.

Thanks JCB1100