6" Morbark Chipper???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sbumgarner78

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to the tree business so any help would be greatly appreciatted! I have found a small used Morbark 6" chipper that is a few years old. I believe it has a 25 or 27 HP Kohler gas engine on it. Anyone have any experience with these machines will they truly grind a 5" piece of wood. I know a larger chipper would probably be better but for now a smaller one will have to do.

Thanks
Aaron

Virginia

I'm relatively new to the tree business so any help would be greatly appreciatted! I have found a small used Morbark 6" chipper that is a few years old. I believe it has a 25 or 27 HP Kohler gas engine on it. Anyone have any experience with these machines will they truly grind a 5" piece of wood. I know a larger chipper would probably be better but for now a smaller one will have to do.

Thanks
Aaron

Virginia

Nothing smaller then a 10" with a diesel or you'll not be able to do ANYTHING... you're looking at $15K for a decent used machine....Morbark or Brush Bandit are the two better manufacturers

I don't have any time on that machine but have used the Vermeer 6" chipper and the Bandit 6" chippers a fair amount. They're not 9-12" chippers, but it isn't like they're Craftsman 10hp leaf grinders or something that bad.

In my experience the 6" chippers powered by the 24-27hp Kohler gas engines are pretty slow when material gets above 4". If all you are doing is grinding up shrubs and trimmings, or buying a chipper for personal use, then these sorts of machines might be an option. But the price would have to be pretty low to get me interested.