A question for the pro's

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

338RUM

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys, I am new to cutting firewood for my home. I bought a new Stihl MS260 with an 18" bar. I have been felling and bucking sugar maple and elm trees that are around 16". Is this type of wood and size really too much for my little saw to handle and last? I have cut around 6 cord already and I am wondering if I need to upgrade to something like a Stihl 440. I would love to hear your two cents.

Thanks
Duane

most any saw will do if the chain is sharp. keep it sharp by bending your knees and keeping the right hand against the ground(thereby keeping the blade tip out of dirt). bending your knees will also ease back strain. Also be aware of firewood standards--wood for indoor furnaces must be seasoned, preferably one year Trim all suckers away, these are potential fire hazards,

As Dr. Phil would say "how's that working out for you?".

Hey, if you're happy with the performance, keep working with it. You won't burn out the saw by working it hard so log as it isn't bogging down and burning up the clutch or you're not letting it cool down before shut off. It is a "pro" saw.

If you're not, then upgrade...

For cutting wood this size, you'd be real happy with a MS361... Of course an MS440 or MS460 would cut slightly faster, but...

Go with bigger saw. The 260 is enough in my view but why not have more than enough rather than just barely enough saw. get a moded ms460

Rotax Robert

That saw is fine for what you're doinging. Like Lakeside said, the 361 would be ideal for what you're doing, but you did right in getting a good saw to start with. The 260 will last you forever if you take care of it. There is no problem with getting a 440, and bigger saws are cool, but for firewood duties, it really isn't necessary.