? about my 257

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sbhooper

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Would I gain enough on my old 257 with a muffler mod to make it worth it, or should I just save the deflector and screen for another saw? I don't use the saw a lot, although it runs great. Any input is appreciated as I am fairly new to this muff mod stuff. It just seems that on these old saws with empty muflers, the gain may be fairly small.

The 257 and 262 mufflers seem pretty free to me, but I would mod it if it were mine. If you really want to have some fun, drop a 262 top end on it with the modded mufler. Then you'll be selling the 361 and 359.

That sounds like a great thing-for anybody that has more ability than I do! I am just too scared to start a project like that without someone helping that knows their stuff.

Hey, I've got a 257 that I really enjoy. It all started with a search for info on one that I just bought used and got lucky on.

Then I found this place looking for specs and such... Downward or upward spiral your choice of wording but here I am a few months later with a ported,squish lowered,Large hole in my muffler Kick ass running although quite loud:rock: 257.

Many thanks again to one Mr b200driver who sent me a used but useable cylinder to practice porting. YOU:rock:!!!!

So after running the saw stock for a while and having this cylinder just begging to be put to some serious work I widend the intake and exh. ports as much as I could while staying fairly safe. I left the transfers alone due to my lack of understanding on what to do to make them better. After looking at the 029 cyl I have on my bench at the moment I would say I don't see any need to mess with the 257 transfers.

Made a custom (cardboard,flat not corrugated) base gasket and got the squish to around 20-25 thou put it together and figured out how to tune it.