Advice on cutting straight on trunks of hardish wood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
M

MattG

Hi people,

I do have some experience of cutting and saws and such. But I'm still learning and would appreciate some advice from more experienced folk.

I've been given some lengths of darn hard (18 - 25") cherry trunks and slowly processing them using mainly my 064. That saw definitely has the power for the work, but find it easy to smoke out and dull the chain if am not careful with the pressure I apply, and when I keep hitting hidden mud pockets (we have brushed, scraped and hosed them as much as possible). So yeah, I have been sharpening and raker checking a lot!

What I really wanted the advice on was, when I cut the cherry I find that often the saw drifts slightly (just a little though). And yeah you can tell that this strains the saw some. Whats the recommend way to get the straightest cut? (the trunks are raised a foot off ground + are level + I'm sawing downward + just stating the obvious).

Anyway, could I be pressing down to hard on the saw in the cut - does that make it veer off true? Or should I just try to guide it through almost under it's own weight?

Any tips + advice appreciated.

BTW - I'm using 20 and 25" RSC B+C

thanks Matt

Hi people,

I do have some experience of cutting and saws and such. But I'm still learning and would appreciate some advice from more experienced folk.

I've been given some lengths of darn hard (18 - 25") cherry trunks and slowly processing them using mainly my 064. That saw definitely has the power for the work, but find it easy to smoke out and dull the chain if am not careful with the pressure I apply, and when I keep hitting hidden mud pockets (we have brushed, scraped and hosed them as much as possible). So yeah, I have been sharpening and raker checking a lot!