An introduction

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr_Brushcutter

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi

I've just signed up to the forum i found it through a search as i was looking for a place to answer some questions that i have. I'm from St. Albans in Hertfordshire ,England. I'm currently doing a degree in Geography and i'm on a work placement this year. I'm working at a place that does lots of different work but we do it with people with learning difficuties and mental health problems.

After working there for 6 months i realised that someone with chainsaw quilifcations would be so useful. Not just to make things easier when hedge laying and other jobs we do. But also as a way to make money from doing tree work jobs.

So i've signed up to do CS30+31 and am going to do CS38, 39 and 40 as well. After i graduate i'm also going to do the ABC arborculture (theory) course as well.

I've already had some experence with working with chainsaws i cut down a magnolia tree which was causing great problems to my parents hourse. I used a Husky 365 with a 20" bar on it. Standing in the tree chopping it up i thought i'd really like to be able to climb as well.

This leads me on to my question. I've not really seen much tree climbing and don't know whats involved in terms of strengh required fitness. What kind of equipment you need and how its all done. I'd like a quick breiif so i can make a decision if its something i'd be able to do.

Thanks

Andy

Take a look at some of the pictures, Master Blaster just posted one and I think Jason. These guys are STRONG: look at the muscels