An Introduction

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChuckinOhio

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Casstown Ohio, Home of the original two headed cir
Greetings to all,

I've been lurking in the archives and using the search function so much that I plum forgot that there was a real time interactive part of this site. I figgered that I had better introduce myself, and share what I learned.

I am a homeowner and heat with wood(I got really tired of the utility bills that come with electric heat!)

I thought that my old SXL-925 was dead in the water and didn't want to pay someone to fix it, being as old as it was. Lo and behold, a Google search brought up the AS archives and I was on my way. A carb cleaning/rebuild kit, some tygon fuel line and a little tuning and the old girl is back at it. I OWE YOU FELLAS for that. I am a mechanic for a major railroad but for some reason small 2 cycles seemed like rocket science. Well that has since been proven a fallacy and I'm on to muffler mods!

I was trying to decide between Stihl or Husky for new saws, and after reading the pros and cons of each(Not much of that in the archives either let me tell ya) I went out and bought both, SO THERE. I took the opinion BUY WHAT FEELS GOOD AND RUNS GOOD FOR YOU to heart and like em all.

Really I have always had a favorable opinion of Husky stuff(Dirt bikes) so I bought a 142 and a 350 for small saws. I also bought an MS310 to try since Stihl has such a loyal following(plus a buddy that said if I didn't like it he would give me what I paid for it if it didn' tickle my fancy)

After running all the saws, the wife asks me which one I am going to keep.
Of course I answer DUH, ALL OF THEM!(Which I am sure you all would agree was the 100% correct answer) I am now debating which model of big Husky I am going to buy for the chores that are beyond the 350.