Arctic Saw Change Over.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the tree guy

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Is it possible to change over my huky 372 or 088 into an arctic version?How well do the Arctics work?Thanks for your help.:D Dan

Stihl arctic versions have heated handles (there may be some exception to this, I'm no expert). I'm sure you don't want to pay for all the parts needed to retrofit your saw, handles, new coil, new flywheel, switch, etc. There may not even be compatable parts to fit your saw. There may be mods you can do to improve cold weather performance of your saw like re-directing the incoming air over the cylinder first to prevent carb icing. And blocking the lower portion of the fan housing off so it doesn't eat snow, snow is water and you don't want your saw to drink ANY watetr it'll wash the oil off the cylinder wall. Some manufacturers (Stihl included) offer accessories for this purpose but you'll likely have to pester the dealer to look them up. There is a hedge trimmer available for the 026 (it's in the accessory book anyway) that I asked my dealer about. He looked at me like I was nuts. I bet him six pack it was in the book. He lost!

yes - they have heated handles and a heated carburetor (husky and stihl i think too) - think they usually run about $60+ more than the normal versions. i wouldnt bother with a changeover - seems like a lot of work. people i have asked really seem to like em though.