"B" piston in an "A" cylinder?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kennygee

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
:confused:I know there is a difference in an "A" and "B" piston and cylinder but can a used one be used in the other without any harm?I have an A c&p and some one gave me a used "B" piston. Will it work without tearing anything up? This is in an older 266XP that I will be using maybe 15 to 20 hours a year. I know they don't cost that much, but the wife got laid off Friday .I now have to watch my spending a little closer:mad::mad: This is the first saw I have ever tried this on as I am a complete newbie at this. I did do a pressure and vacuum test and that all came out good. but I did that without the piston in it.:newbie:I hope I am not being a nuisance by asking all these dumb:newbie: questions. I appreciate all the help in the past !! Thanks

I have done A cylinder with B piston on Stihl before and did work but measure everything for clearance.

On my motorcycle a B piston is a bit larger than an A.
Normally by the time you need a piston the cylinder plating has worn enough that the B piston is perfect in a used A cylinder.

On my motorcycle a B piston is a bit larger than an A.
Normally by the time you need a piston the cylinder plating has worn enough that the B piston is perfect in a used A cylinder.

did that exact thing on my old 94 kx125.. but that was in 2004... boy did she have some power