Blakes Hitch Malfunction?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eagan

Reaction score
Hey guys i'm an arborist trainee and recently purchased a climbing set up. Im using the micro pulley hitch advancement system with a petzl tibloc, the same set up in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=COnJtt4Jf-Q. I climbed for the first time yesterday and got about halfway up when my blakes hitch malfunctioned and no longer had the ability to slide down. Im wondering is this because I tied the knot incorrectly or does this system have the potential to compromise the blakes in some way? Does this system only work with a prusik hitch?

As for the Blakes it will bind up like that at times. You may want to try buying a few different kinds of rope and making a few single eye split tails. Let us know what you are climbing on and people here will tell you combinations that they have found that run well together... no reason to reinvent the wheel.

Last edited:
my climbing line is an XTC 12-Strand 1/2” Rope and i'm using a 1/2" True Blue Sewn Eye Split tail. I purchased the entry level climbing kit from wesspur.com. As far as the blake binding up, what can be done about that while in the tree? Obviously find a place to stand and re-tie the knot but what can you do, if anything, if you are suspended in the air with no where to stand?

my climbing line is an XTC 12-Strand 1/2” Rope and i'm using a 1/2" True Blue Sewn Eye Split tail. I purchased the entry level climbing kit from wesspur.com. As far as the blake binding up, what can be done about that while in the tree? Obviously find a place to stand and re-tie the knot but what can you do, if anything, if you are suspended in the air with no where to stand?

Have you tried a Blakes 53, 3 wraps followed by 2? or are you just using 2 and 2?