Broken drive teeth

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AddisonEcho

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I purchased an Echo 620p a few months ago. I have mainly used the 27 inch bar with no problems. However the 20 inch bar is the problem. I have broken off 4-5 drive teeth on 3 chains and today the sprocket tip gear broke apart. Every time the drive teeth broke I was just cutting into a log with. little pressure and no binding.I always check chain tension whenever I refuel.Today when the sprocket tip gear broke I was cutting a medium size limb off when the chain came off the bar and I found half of the sprocket gear on the ground. I have been cutting trees for firewood for over 30 years and I have never broken a chain let alone the sprocket gear. I recently cut up a 51 inch diameter maple tree with the 27 inch bar with no problems. I lube the gear everytime I refuel. I have a few questions. First, what could cause the chain drive teeth to shear off, second what could cause the sprocket to break? Could the bar have been bad from the beginning? The bar tip is replaceable but I cannot find one and my dealer does not know how to get one. I cut over 25 trees a year for firewood, so what aftermarket bar would you suggest as I prefer not to purchase another Echo bar.

Photos might help:
- broken drive links;
- broken nose sprocket parts;
- replaceable sprocket nose (‘RSN’) assembly, including where it attaches to the bar.

Drive teeth don’t typically shear off, unless they have a problem with the drive sprocket (spur or rim?) or nose sprocket.

If you were already breaking off drive links, without the chain jumping the bar groove, I am speculating that there was something wrong with the nose sprocket to begin with. Or they were not compatible pitches. But that is just a guess.

Philbert