bucking dirty wood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

4direct

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to the site and am thankful for all the great info that is available. I am very new to the chainsaw, but was a framer for many years, so have a great respect for power tools, and experience around them too.
A couple of months ago I bought my first chainsaw, a used Husky 51, from a pawn shop, and have not had any trouble with it, other than trying to keep a sharp chain on it.
I am not going to be cutting for a profession, but will be cutting a considerable amount for firewood, and perhaps some to sell. So with that in mind, I went out and purchased a new Stihl 260 and a 440 magnum, figuring that those 2 saws will handle all of my needs into the future. I have learned alot just going thru the archives, answering many of my questions. I'd like to throw one at ya that will help me to keep my saws and chains in good shape.
If I am tackling a 16" or better diameter tree, that has been down but is still attached to the root, laying directly on the ground, I cant roll it with my timberjack, how do I cut the rounds without touching the chain into the dirt? I know I just have to roll the smaller stuff to finish the cut, but how about the bigger stuff that has to be cut where it is?
Also with the ppe issue, I have chaps, hardhat with visor and ear protection, wear gloves. How about shoes? Are 10" boots with steel toe sufficient or is kevlar recommended?
Thanks guys for the help, and have really enjoyed the wealth of info on this site.

4direct

Last edited:
i've been cutting a LOT of wood in the last month, some of it with dirt/mud on the logs. I carry a big wire brush, makes short work of the dirt where you want to cut.

There are ways to do this...