Building a Chainsaw mill, looking for input..

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ELITER

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So I am not good with the computer at drawing stuff up and posting it to explain my design but let me try to explain what I want to do...

I have a ps 7900 Blue dolmar, a little tuned up bought it from Cut4Fun off the forum.

I would like to attach a chainsaw mill to it to make some lumber out of some of the logs that would otherwise become firewood...

Most are smaller than 20" but I often have access to cool pieces that would make awesome slabs with the right setup...

I initially will put it onto my current 24" bar but will eventually determine how large of a bar I think this Chainsaw is good for and buy one and drill it.

I was thinking of buying one but in looking at them I think they are about a $50 to make product.. I am planning for a combo of the Granberg style with the railomatic style.

I have bought 8020 1" extrusion to make the planing deck out of.(the part that slides on top of the cant or guide) I have 2 ~6' bars of it and enough T-brackets to make a shape with 2 long pieces and 2 cross pieces (like a large "H" with two horizontal bars instead of one), all could be quickly and easily adjusted in the field. Shaped like:
_____
_|_|_

Question: What length should I go with for the long guide bars? For the cross bars?

I was initially thinking like 40" for the long guide bars and ~16" for the cross bars, but before I cut any of this what is an ideal width for the planing deck? I think I will likely go with 36" length cause I can easily buy more later and make a different sized deck for a bigger saw.