buy new, or buy used and mod?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

A.D.

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all,
I am a newbie. :dizzy:
If you don't mind, I have a couple of questions to ask.
I found a chainsaw mill that used to be my grandfather's. I have his old saw too(Poulan 361). It is very old and never had anything done to it except the carb was rebuilt once. It doesn't have much comperssion anymore, so it won't do. I have been looking at getting a new Stihl 440 and doing a muffler mod to it. How much horspower could I expect out of that? I need enough power for the saw mill. Or should I buy a used 044 or 066 off ebay and smothe the ports and open up the muffler? I have worked on 2 stoke engines before and smothed out the ports on a 125 dirt bike, so I am willing to take it all apart. But is it worth it, how much powercan I gain? I want to use the saw for regular use too, so I don't want it to be super big(deminsionaly). My Poulan 361 is ALL metal so it doesn't have to be super light either. I looked at some Husky's but I don't care for the controls. I think Stihl is what i am going to get. Basically is it worth the risk to buy a used chainsaw off ebay? How much can I expect to spend on piston, rings, and gaskets? About how much does a jug run if I have to change it? Thanks for all the replys you have made over the years to others. I have learned a lot already.

Cheers,
Alex

Welcome to the site!