C51 smokes and safety classes in West MI

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dean06919

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
First off, great site. This is my first year cutting wood and before I found this site I had a ton of questions. Thankfully, I found answers to almost all of my questions using the search feature, all except for two.

Does anyone know of any safety or how to classes for felling trees offered in West Michigan? I've read a lot and even watched a few U Tube videos on the subject, but would like some hands on experience with a professional. If I can't locate a class, I probably try to find a logger and see if I can work with him for a few days.

Second, my father has loaned me his Homelite C51 for use on felling and bucking larger trees. It has seen little use and has been meticulously maintained for its entire life. It currently sports a 25 inch bar with a standard .404 full chisel chain. I have probably cut down and bucked about 20 tress so far this year without incident. Lately, however, it has the tendency to want to stall while cutting. If I let off the throttle, the saw returns to an idle. When I pull the throttle it runs until I start cutting again and then starts to die out. Eventually, the saw will just run fine and cut like normal. Today I was bucking up a very large oak, around a 48" DBH I would guess. I shut the saw off to add more gas and noticed smoke was coming from the left hand side, from the recoil. The saw refused to start until it cooled down. The plug looked tan and had good looking spark. This happened a few more times so, I called it a day. Any ideas what might be happening to the saw? I run full synthetic oil with 92 octane. I never force the saw, instead allowing its great weight to do the cutting.

Thanks,
Dean