Can I store a black walnut log over the winter?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moddoo

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new to this milling stuff.

I will be taking down a 20"+ diameter black walnut for a friend this fall.
I am hoping to get the trunk milled by a local guy sometime.
I really don't have the time or $ to do it this year.
Would it be OK to store the log over the winter and get it milled next year?

Also, should I seal it somehow to keep it from checking?

Any idea what it costs to get some walnut milled?

Thanks

If you can get away logistically without bucking it to length that would be better, but not necessary. At any rate, seal the ends of each log with Anchorseal or latex exterior house paint as soon as it's dropped. Keep it off the ground and out of direct weather and it should be fine as long as the beetles don't infest it between now and when that MN winter sets in couple months from now.

Good advise as usual from Woodshop.

I have a stack of elm, sweetgum, southern yellow pine and oak that were cut 5 months ago. I sealed the ends with 2-3 coats of old latex paint and blocked them up off the ground and show very little degradation. It's always better it mill them ASAP but not imperative.