Carlton SP 4102 -is it cutting correctly? Ever used a Green Wheel?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tsevigny

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Thank you in advance. I am new to stump grinding somewhat. I have a Carlton SP 4012 with a 27hp Kohler. I realize this is not a very powerful machine, but it seems that is not grinding as fast as I anticipated. For example, how long should it take to grind down a 30" white pine, 3 inches high? I attached a photo.
Also, I posted a question asking if anyone has tried the new Green Wheel. The videos look interesting, but I would like a first hand impression.
I appreciate the time you experts take to help us newbies.

Thank you in advance. I am new to stump grinding somewhat. I have a Carlton SP 4012 with a 27hp Kohler. I realize this is not a very powerful machine, but it seems that is not grinding as fast as I anticipated. For example, how long should it take to grind down a 30" white pine, 3 inches high? I attached a photo.
Also, I posted a question asking if anyone has tried the new Green Wheel. The videos look interesting, but I would like a first hand impression.
I appreciate the time you experts take to help us newbies.

When grinding pine u must have sharp teeth, esp if it is fresh cut, u also have to get the first cut deep or u will be trying to grind with 2 much of the wheel and just bouncing the wheel, take small cuts, don't try and hurry pine, it is just 2 sappy and will not cut good, u should be leaving a nice smooth surface as u come across or your teeth aren't sharp enough, as far as time is concerned when i had my sc252 27hp about same as your machine, a 30 inch pine down 6-8 inches as best i can remember about 30 minutes, i hated doing pine with that machine esp fresh cut...

Hope that helps..

Bob......:cheers: