CB 5036 Review

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woodmarc

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
This is my first year with the 5036 and so I thought I would post I initial thoughts after my first three months of running the boiler in hopes that it may benefit someone making their own decision.

First a little about me and my situation. I've been around wood burning my whole life, so wood cutting and collection are nothing new to me. I have heated my house (1500 sq ft well insulated) for years with an indoor wood stove and was quite happy with it. However my son has developed asthma problems and the dust from indoor wood burning had become an issue. After a lot of research I decided to go with the CB 5036 mainly because there is a dealer close and he seemed to be quite knowledgeable.

I mounted my boiler on a pad made of paver bricks which is 6' by 8', this leaves me with maybe 2 feet of bricked area in front of the boiler. If I had it to do over again I'd make the pad larger in the front since I find myself standing half on, and half off of the pad when loading. This can be problematic when there is ice on the ground.

I chose to set it close to the house in order to minimize the cost of the underground lines. I bought the thermopex lines from CB and seems to have been a good decision since I see minimal heat loss. The lines are only about 6 inches underground in the vicinity of the house due to the way i had to penetrate the foundation wall, and when there has been snow on the ground it does not melt in these areas.