central boiler:lowering the water temp.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ant

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
with the outside temp in the high of 40's and the night temp in the low to mid 30's. i lowered my Set point from 170 to 160 to conserve Wood. did i do the right thing?
i am two weeks old with my boiler.

I have a Woodmaster and when the temp start staying in the 40's in the day and 30's at night I lower mine to 140on and 160 off. If the temp stays warm and you don't turn the stove down it gets kind of hot I run ours all summer and then I lower the stove temp to 120 and I only fill it up once a week,

Is there really any wood savings by adjusting the thermostat to a lower temp range? After all, once your boiler reaches the range you are only heating water 10 degrees. In my mind (and maybe I'm missing something in thermo dynamics) it takes the same amount of energy to heat water 10 degrees whether you are going from 120 - 130 or 170-180.

I say lowering the temp is'nt gonna save you anything. I tried it..No difference... Your still heating water no matter what! Mine stays a 195 all heating season.

I fall on the "no noticeable difference" side of this fence based on 2 years experience with mine. I can't say I've done much of a scientific study on the topic either.

It says in the manual not to lower the water temp below 165 on CBs. I only notice the difference in the temperature in the house because my furnace is on the first floor living area.

with the outside temp in the high of 40's and the night temp in the low to mid 30's. i lowered my Set point from 170 to 160 to conserve Wood. did i do the right thing?
i am two weeks old with my boiler.

I have been using a Central Boiler OWB for 3 heating seasons now...