chain/bar recommendation to setup chain saw mill

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stumpfield

Reaction score
Newbie here... I have a Stihl 084 that I would like to put it to use. I got a few logs about 36" diameter. I want to setup the 084 to rip some slabs to feed my woodworking hobby. What do you recommend to get for setting up a chain saw mill? The saw currently has a 30" bar. I need at least a 42" bar and the right type of chain for this job. Thanks in advance for you help.

Well, unfortunately, the 084 uses the big mount bars (BS), so the only 42" that they list at Bailey's is the 41" Woodsman Pro at $149. I've got the 066 with the SS mount, so I got the Oregon Power Match for $75. The Cannon 41" lists for $162 in the big Stihl mount. You may want to check GB, Oregon appears to stop at a 36" for the big Stihl mount bars.

The bar issue was one of the things that drove me to a Husky 3120. I was able to adapt my Stihl bars with an adapter by Cannon and some grinding work.

Mark

might want to check out my bar/chain prices in the other sponsors section, i listed prices for 18" to 84" bars.

stumpfield said:
Newbie here... I have a Stihl 084 that I would like to put it to use. I got a few logs about 36" diameter. I want to setup the 084 to rip some slabs to feed my woodworking hobby. What do you recommend to get for setting up a chain saw mill? The saw currently has a 30" bar. I need at least a 42" bar and the right type of chain for this job. Thanks in advance for you help.

If you want the ultimate in bar and chain, my choice for the 084 would be a Cannon Superbar in and around the 42" you mentioned, Available in .325", .375" or .404" pitch single rivet sprocket noses, go for a smaller pitch if you can get it to fit the saw, this will speed things up no end.