Chain Saw Milling Speed?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drivadesl

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I was milling some oak the other day, roughly 22" across, using my MS-660, 36" ripping chain from Baileys. Pretty much took all of a 30 minutes to run through 8.5' length, works out to 3.5 inches/min. Seemed a lot slower than that, but since I'm new at this, just looking for a sanity check. The chain was used once on 4 cuts, so I touched it up using the Stihl file guide set at 10 degrees. Had to apply a lot of force to move it through the log, definitely sore the next day. Anyone care to comment?

I was milling some oak the other day, roughly 22" across, using my MS-660, 36" ripping chain from Baileys. Pretty much took all of a 30 minutes to run through 8.5' length, works out to 3.5 inches/min. Seemed a lot slower than that, but since I'm new at this, just looking for a sanity check. The chain was used once on 4 cuts, so I touched it up using the Stihl file guide set at 10 degrees. Had to apply a lot of force to move it through the log, definitely sore the next day. Anyone care to comment?

that is a lot slower than an oak log I recently did. Mine was only 18-19 -in diameter, but still. I run a 82 cc Pioneer P51 with a 24 inch bar and lp chain. While I didn't time it, I know it wasn't that long, it seemed like 5 -6 minutes a pass, but like I said I didn't time it.I know it wasn't 30 minutes. Oak is one of the slower woods to mill. You should not have to apply so much force that you get sore from pushing. Is your chain new? If not maybe the rakers need lowering. Do you have any pics of your assembled milling set up for us to look at? Maybe from photos we can get an idea.