Chain sharpening, how precise do I need to be?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Foxfire

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm just cutting firewood for myself. You could say I'm a bit more than a weekend warrior who has cut his oil bill in half and wants to cut it more. I got myself a file-n-joint and so far it's way better than what I can do by hand. I have been using the depth stop rather than counting my strokes in an effort to get my chains back to uniform. I have noticed that file is not parallel to the guide bar. So the file may contact the cutter tooth at the beginning of the stoke and not at the end of it or vice versa depended how I have it setup. I'm new to sharpening chains and I tend to over worry about things that need don't need worrying.

If my angles are good and the teeth are sharp how much do I need to worry about the length of the teeth matching? Is within a 1/32" too muc, good enough, or am I wasting my time worrying about anything under 1/16"?

I can fix the jig and make everything parallel but do I need to? Would my time be better spent just counting my strokes?

I got myself a file-n-joint and so far it's way better than what I can do by hand. . . . the file may contact the cutter tooth at the beginning of the stoke and not at the end of it or vice versa depended how I have it setup.

If my angles are good and the teeth are sharp how much do I need to worry about the length of the teeth matching?

Depends on how fussy you are. For some guys, if it is cutting wood, that is good enough.

The key goals in sharpening chain are:
- getting both cutting edges (top and side) sharp;
- getting every cutter on a loop the same.