Chain Sharpening,why is my dealer no good?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
skipster

skipster

ArboristSite Operative
I'm fairly new to chain sharpening,and am not at all confident in my skills with a standard hand file.
so ive been dropping off my saw on a regular basis to the stihl dealer in town to have the chain sharpened(costs around $10)
Every time i've got it back,the chain feels worse than when it went in!
They use a special grinder,and theyre very confident, but i'm starting to feel a complete idiot,and wondering what they are doing wrong.
went to the Husky dealer,and had similar results.
Its seems they take your money,then get the apprentice to ruin your chain.
I know I have to learn how to sharpen properly(I need a teacher!) , or maybe i need to buy one of those fancy sharpening tools, any suggestions?

blades

blades

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
I can almost guaranty that your problem with either dealer lies in the depth gauges - and most likely you are correct in assuming that the low employee on the pole gets the job. In which case mostly haven't the faintest idea of what it's all about. Plenty on here are advocates of hand filing - I am not particularly one of them as I am a professional shop, I do not have time for hand filing 30 or more chains a week . There is a fair learning curve to developing a good hand file technique. I can and do hand file but only in the field. Bit of a learning curve with a grinder as well although much shorter. A ton of threads on sharpening chains so I will not repeat.

Oldman47

Oldman47

ArboristSite Guru