chainsaw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveffemt130

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I have been reading the opinions on this forum for quite some time and decided to join. I like some of the opinion and dislike others...as far as chain saws go I have been using Poland saws for 7 years now...started with the 4620avx and went to the 5020 and use the other for backup...the only problem I have had is the junk toolless adjuster on the 4620, I put an adjustable bar on it and ground the rackers all the way off and it outcuts my friends husky 460. I cut about 20 cord a year. I am not lucky enough to stumble on oak,I mostly cut mulberry,hedgeapple and whatever else I can get my hands on....if it's free it's for me!

The rakers are there for a reason. When your cutters grab the wood and rip the saw out of your hands you will wish they were still there and the proper height.

Welcome to AS. The depth gauges(rakers) kept filed to the proper height will still let you cut fast, but will give you more chain life and less wear and tear on your bar.

I would like to think that cutting as much wood as I cut for as long as I have been doing it I am a little more advanced than the typical homeowner that uses one to trim a rose bush

I would like to think that cutting as much wood as I cut for as long as I have been doing it I am a little more advanced than the typical homeowner that uses one to trim a rose bush

Anyone who thinks they can control a saw 100% of the time is either a fool or naive (or both). I have no sympathy for people who have no regard for safety.

images

I'm guessing that our new friend actually ground the bumper links (rather than the depth gauges) off of the safety chain on his Poulan chainsaw. I'd be very surprised if a 4620 would be able to pull the chain with the rakers ground completely off....