Chipping for climbers

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MCF Dave

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie, wanted to get an opinion. I hope I've come to the right place..... I'm buying a chipper and dump trailer and want to know if you climbers think it would be worth while to contact local arborists (southern Indiana is local) and try to work out a deal where they climb and cut and I come in after to chip limbs and clean up. I'm an old fogey and don't want to climb, but need something to keep me out of the house. Any of you done a deal like this? Any good points/bad points?
Dave

first and most important is using the chipper safely and properly, as well as wear Personal Protective Equipment (earmuffs, hardhat, eye protection, steel toe boots etc).

not only could strike up a deal with a treeclimber, you could also charge homeowners for chipping yard cleanup (branches, shrubs etc)

Good Luck!

:cheers:

I think you might do better with a small stump grinder. Think about it, there are not to many people doing tree work who don't own a chipper or have another means of getting rid of tree waste.

My area is different from OTG boston's. there are 2 companies here doing tree care that have a chipper, (me and the other guy) the rest are pickup truck landscapers cutting wood and utility crews doing weekend buzz work.
If it were me, I'd throw some flyers/cards at the local rental shops for the DIY'ers and hit the parking lot of the local utility crews.
I despise cleaning up someone else's mess personally, and have stopped doing that myself, but the work is out there. If I were to start doing that, I'd make it very clear to the weekenders that the brush will be stacked straight and accessable and no wood/logs in it. add a clause in your contract to cover that and foreign (metal) debris.