Climbing Gear??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StIhL MaGnUm

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have a few questions that I hope someone can help me out with.I've been wanting to start climbing for quite some time now,but almost everyone I know has a bucket truck so of course when it comes to climbing they're not the smartest.

I just want to know exactly what I need to get for climbing gear to start out with??Where to buy it from??,and what is a good saddle(buckingham-weaver-etc..)

I've been doing Landclearing for about 6 years now and most of the time I'm out in the woods clearing lots,but alot of the time's I have to top 'em and I have to get a bucket truck.I really just want to start climbing I got the bug..:blob2:

Thanks alot for any help
Rob
R.C.S. Landclearing Inc.

Rob,

I highly recommend you receive training from a certified arborist BEFORE you buy your gear. Topping in a bucket truck is one thing but climbing requires training and skill. You can drop $1,000.00 easy on a full set of gear (including your 020). You might get up there and find out climbing is not for you.

Hope things work out for you.

Top them? Hmmmmm I think that one is going to get you in trouble in this forum to start with.

But anyway look up and click onto Sherrill
Order the book called The tree climbers Companion by Jeff Jepson heres the link
http://store.wtsherrill.com/pgi-ContinueList3?Books
Then look over the arbormaster videos. But Get on hands training before you start climbing trees Climbing is challenging enough But then you have to add running a chainsaw into the mix. and dropping wood out. :blob2:

Rob,
I`m a new rope climber as well.
I would suggest you get a Sherrill catalog and a copy of the Tree Climbers Companion.
If you can get to the TCI Expo in November it will have everything you could possibly need.

DDM,