clutch removal/sprocket replacement

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twstm

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Can anybody give me a general idea of how to remove the clutch on my Poulan so I can replace the drive sprocket. Now that I have a new saw coming I thought I would fix this one up a little and experiment with it.
I've never done any repair work on chainsaws, but I'm a fairly decent mechanic.

Maybe It was less than that...maybe I'm getting senile in my old age. It has Poulan Pro 295 marked on the case Model # 530-029086, Type 1:popcorn:

Except no chain brake

Cut4fun said:
Yep started production in 1993. Your right. Didnt seem like it had been out that long, boy time flys when your getting older.http://www.acresinternet.com/cscc.n...c2b3efd6af050e6b88256f77001bfbdd?OpenDocument

Yep, That looks like it, except there was no chain brake on it when I bought it. I thought it odd at the time, but I got it from the local dealer who was getting out of the chainsaw/lawnmower business. Think I paid $75 dollars for it back then, it was his demo model. Thing doesn't owe me a dime. Used it hard and put it away wet and still runs good. Took a peek at the piston while I was at it and it looks great.

Clutch

Urbicide said:
Does the clutch assembly have two shoes with one spring holding the shoes to the center portion?:popcorn:

Yes, it does.

Clutch removal