Collection of Huge Old Logs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Djay

ArboristSite Lurker
I am a retired educator-Football Coach, Math Teacher, Administrator. Over the years I have driven my wife crazy with my love affair with wood timber--especially local walnut (90%), maple, and cedar. I have collected some of the hugest pieces ever seen. Some of these specimens are in the neighborhood of 48" and larger diameters and up to 30' long. Many have spalted sections, many have beautiful burls. I'm guessing but I probably have collected around 60 - 70 logs of varying width and lengths. I know this sounds almost unbelievable but...I am now retired and would like to slowly cut up and either sell or use this wood for projects. The major issue I realize I will be dealing with is in regards to --wire and/or nails--embedded in the wood. Beyond that:

The question(s) is 1) Where do I start? 2) How do I cut such pieces? 3) What is the best mill I can use to begin such an operation? (I have investigated many types of mills and they all seem to say"I'm the best!!While I'm sure they are all great, the problem I'm having is fitting these huge logs into the throat of the system.) 4) What problems should I expect to run into and how do I solve them? 5) Is there a "best" approach to cutting and marketing without killing myself (I want to enjoy my retirement). 6) I would love hearing about any other issues I should know about regarding this lifetime project...

I have been approached by numerous people to purchase everything from slabs (many) to plain boards to whole logs.

woodshop

woodshop

Addicted to ArboristSite
Djay said:
The question(s) is 1) Where do I start? 2) How do I cut such pieces? I have been approached by numerous people to purchase everything from slabs (many) to plain boards to whole logs.