Corn & Wood Pellet Stoves?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

max2cam

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I've been burning wood for some 30 years now and wouldn't have it any other way. But a friend of mine was told by a local contractor NOT to install a woodstove in her mobile home due to safety concerns but rather buy a corn & wood pellet stove. He said that the heat was also more constant and better than heat from a woodstove.

Now that all sounds somewhat bogus to me. Can't a woodstove be safely installed in a mobile home? Is corn or wood pellets a better fuel than firewood?

This is heavily forested country and she can have a load of split dry wood delivered. But where is she going to get the corn or wood pellets? The guy who talked to her made it sound like these wood pellets were magic or something. How can they have any more heating value than wood itself?

Anyone with experience about corn/wood pellet stoves vs. regular woodstoves? Comments welcome...

There are wood stoves out there that are listed for mobile home installs.

I looked into pellet and corn stoves and they were all way more expensive than wood stoves. Also the cost of pellets/corn run around $200 per ton, and you can figure going through 3 or 4 if you use it as a primary heat source. Then you have to figure if the power goes out your screwed unless you have some kind of battery back up.

The only advantages I see is less mess, less labor, and a more even heat.

There are wood stoves out there that are listed for mobile home installs.

I looked into pellet and corn stoves and they were all way more expensive than wood stoves. Also the cost of pellets/corn run around $200 per ton, and you can figure going through 3 or 4 if you use it as a primary heat source. Then you have to figure if the power goes out your screwed unless you have some kind of battery back up.