Critique My Plan

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TNLC

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I have been reading on here for about a month now and have decided to post a message. I'm completely new to the firewood business, but I would like to get started yet this winter in preparation to begin selling wood in the fall of 2008. I figure if I can get a set number of cords cut and split this winter, then they should have a decent amount of time to dry before I try to sell them next fall. Here's me tentative plan that I would like to run by all of you more experienced guys (and gals) out there.

Right now, the wood I am interested in has already been cut by a logging company within the past 5 years from a farm which I will be moving onto very soon. Furthermore, the wood is in relatively small piles that are easy to access with a truck. I plan to cut the wood up into stovelength pieces, (about 16") and then load them into the truck and haul them closer to the farmhouse (about .2 of a mile) in order to split them at a later date. Currently, I don't own a splitter and am not ambitious enough to do it all with a maul. Therefore, I plan to stockpile as much wood as I have room for and then rent a splitter and have a day set aside to split as much of my pile as possible.

After the wood is split, I plan to stack it into face cords along a fence row and allow it to dry until I can sell it. I would like to gather more input from you more experienced wood cutters before I take to the woods and begin this process.