CS400 tuning

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EchoCS400

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Stock before muffler mod was 1.75 low, 1.5 high.

After muffler mod, still 1.75 low but had to turn down the idle 1/4 turn. Low is set 1/4 turn rich from midway between lean/rich stumble. Used a tach to set idle to 2400rpm. Seems to have good throttle response.

Started 4 turns out on the high but it was puking, barely pulled 8000rpm. Tried tuning it in the wood, ended up 3 turns out. How does this sound? Birch was kinda dry, limited to what I have at home. I'll test it this weekend at the lake. Took about 8seconds stock, 4seconds after. Not leaning on the saw. Also has a brand new oregon S62 chain.

Stock:
https://youtube.com/shorts/52GG5UdEoZY?feature=share
Modded:
https://youtube.com/shorts/QQsITDz2Ovo?feature=share

I'm no expert Michael. Those CS400's are a little tricky on the L and idle screw adjustments. Always went by Echos procedure and it works well for me. I also think you are at too fat on the H. I would bring it in a quarter turn at a time for at least 1/2 total and then see how it cuts and sounds in and out of the cut. BTW those are decent little saws and relatively cheap.

Yeah tuning the high seems a little hard, found some old poplar to run it in after. 3 turns out seems like its revving really high out of the wood, but almost sounds like its 4 stroking when i bury it. 3.5 turns and she'll just stumble on herself when I put it in wood.

I'd like to lean it out a little more but i don't want to fry it haha.