Cutting a leaner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grawil

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I have a real leaner that needs to be taken down and I'm a little unsure how to proceed. The tree is a yellow/paper birch with a few rotten top branches but the butt & trunk looks sound. I'm felling in the direction of the lean and, besides adjacent trees, there are no obstructions below.

Attached is a quick sketch. I was thinking of putting a narrow v-cut on the lower edge and then proceeding to back cut to the hinge. I also thought about boring to leave a hinge + strap and then cutting the strap to fell. My concern is that the sapwood of a yellow birch might not be strong enough for the strap given the weight of the tree and the extent of the lean.

Thanks,
Graham

Last edited:
Been there

I'm no pro and just went through this with a leaning Alder a couple days ago.
Luckily I took the time to wrap a good stout chain around it because as soon as I started the back cut, she split about 3/4 length. I'm thinking that boring and working toward the back might be the better option, but wait for the pro's to clock in on this as they can speak from experience.

Bore and set your hinge. I'd leave a healthy hinge. I'd then back cut leaving a signiicant strap/trigger and the cut the strap. Even i the strap fails, at least you prevented it from barberchairing and will still fall where you want it. Just be prepaired in case it does break and it won't be a big deal if it does.

sure you can do it like that.

or you can have a sharp ass chain and outcut the barberchair as its happening without doing the borecut.

i take it that this tree isnt too big at the butt if its a birch. if its a peckerpole i wouldnt worry too much about doing the bore cut. to me its a cut for "bigger" wood.

good luck.