Cylinder wear, shiny patches

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RJTodd

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Piston picture for reference. Cylinder is below.

Is the Nikasil worn through in the shiny areas? I've only been inside a few saws, but I've never seen this before. It is from an 044 basket case that I would like to put back together. No idea of the saw's history. The piston looks grit blasted to me. Looks like the saw may have some hours!! SN: X41509000

Thanks,

Randy

IMG_3281[1].JPG

IMG_3315[1].JPG

I am no pro at all on saw rebuilds so I will defer to others. I can guess and see how it turns out...

I'd guess

1) the saw was run with almost no oil in the gas? It got hot and scratched it?
2) the saw was run very hard often with no warm-up?
3) the saw has a lot of hours?

Piston picture for reference. Cylinder is below.

Is the Nikasil worn through in the shiny areas? I've only been inside a few saws, but I've never seen this before. It is from an 044 basket case that I would like to put back together. No idea of the saw's history. The piston looks grit blasted to me. Looks like the saw may have some hours!! SN: X41509000

Thanks,

Randy

View attachment 1052277

View attachment 1052276
Looks like some turd used a hone in there and removed most of the nikasil... AND then didn't clean out the leftover abrasive before putting it all back together. If that is the case the bearings & crank are probably shot as well.

Another tell-tale is the fresh horizontal scoring in the aluminum areas... like hone marks.