Design student developing new forestry product

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lewuk

Reaction score
Hello everybody. I am eager to hear your ideas and suggestions for a new product I am developing. I am a Product Design student at Nottingham Trent University in the UK. Please give me your experiences of the problem, any methods you use currently, exactly what equipment you use, and suggestions for the design. Also please say how commercially successful such a product might be.

Even from my relatively limited experience in forestry, I identified a problem in having to carry felling equipment on foot from the vehicle to the site of work, when the site is some distance from a track.

So my brief was to design a container that would help carry the necessary tools. The device can also provide a means of keeping track of tools.The product would have to be lightweight, relatively inexpensive, and durable. It would be used for smaller scale woodland management tasks rather than commercial logging.

I have produced several concepts already but would like your comments first. I'd like to get your feedback on those designs.

Thank you,
Lewis

Hello everybody. I am eager to hear your ideas and suggestions for a new product I am developing. I am a Product Design student at Nottingham Trent University in the UK. Please give me your experiences of the problem, any methods you use currently, exactly what equipment you use, and suggestions for the design. Also please say how commercially successful such a product might be.

Even from my relatively limited experience in forestry, I identified a problem in having to carry felling equipment on foot from the vehicle to the site of work, when the site is some distance from a track.