Dieing of old age?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beastmaster

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I was visiting a friend at work, He's helping do a major remodel of an up scale home in Orange Co. Always on the lookout for potential jobs I asked about the trees on the property. The owner said he already had an Arborist come out and evaluate the trees. Curious what this high dollar Arborist had to say, I of course asked.
Trees of several different species have died and or are in decline. The Arborist said it was just old age.
I know trees do get old and decline, but come on. The alders are around 10 years old. They have cankers, are bleeding from the bark. There is whole branches that have died off on them. I also found exit holes from borers. On some the bark is peeling off in spots.
I am thinking Phytophthora. I have a lady PHd from UCR coming out next week to inspect them and run some test. Phytophthora siskiyouensis is a new disease in this area of the country, but in this area where the trees are is ground zero and a quarantine area.
A sycamore in the front yard has white mold on the leaves. The home owner paid for the arborist to come out and drill and fill around the drip line to cure it of the mold. I don't know if it was for fertilizer, or compaction, either way I don't see it doing much good other then lining this Arborist's pockets.
The tree is in a planter surrounded by turf, and of course, sprinklers. At dusk they come on, and you can see mist 20 ft up in the air around the tree.
Though I disagree with what this guy is diagnosising and recomemending, I haven't voiced my opinions of what I think of this Arborist to the home owner. Everyone has to make a living. Hell what do I know anyway.