Do We Have To Be Certified

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What is the best chain out there?

• Dealer (stihl,husky,etc.)

Votes: 15 50.0%
  • Oregon

Votes: 14 46.7%
  • WoodsmanPro

Votes: 1 3.3%
  • Laser

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

stihlgotwood

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
DO WE HAVE TO BE CERTIFIED ARBORISTS to do good tree work. the reason i ask is cause i'm new to this site and i've learned alot already and i would like to know if the certified guys look down on non-cert. I've been cutting and climbing for about 12 years-learned from a guy from P.E.I. and took some small coarses here and there, safety is first and i love to do a great job. When i'm done and driving away from a job i always look back to make sure it's sweet just like-(if you love your truck) you would when you park your truck and your walking into a store you always look back.

STIHL 009 (4)
088 (2)
and the ultra handy stihl pole-saw

I worked for five years before getting my certification, and my work did not magically get better afterwards. Studying for the certification does make you learn things you might not have known otherwise, but it doesn't make you a better climber or guarantee all of your cuts are perfect.

In other words, it doesn't stop you from screwing up, you just know how and why a little bit better. Also, you can use fancy terms when you try to blame it on the ground guy.

Last edited:
My view

I believe that being certified is a good starting point. This is the type of profession where you NEVER stop learning. Studying for and passing a CA exam is the first big step. Good luck!

You don't have to be certified to do good work.

However, certification does help you keep up with whats new in the industry, and it lends a lot of credibility to you as an arborist and a professional.