Do you guys think this muffler mod will hold up?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iLikeChainsawsAlot

Reaction score
So a complete newbie, but trying to be creative with what i have on hand. Its a copper pipe with a pretty snug fit, and i glued it up with some steel epoxy glue thats supposed to handle heat up to 150 Celsius.
I know its not pretty but do u think this should hold? It feels solid
IMG_20210317_175819.jpg

Using regular JB Weld rated for 550F should hold up for a couple cuts at a time, but it will soften and fall out if it gets up to normal working temp.

Thanks for all the feedback and tips. I went out and gave it a shot. Loved the way the chainsaw ran, and sounded. Might be placebo but i felt throttle response was very good.

Like most of you with experience said it did not hold up. It survived the first tank, but even then i was doubting my solution because the heated epoxy was giving off some really bad smell, i can only imagine that stuff is toxic when heated to melting point. Made my gag relfex kick in..
But point is second tank first cut while notching the pipe fell out.

Im going to buy map gas torch like sean donato suggested. But in the hardwear store im looking at they have 2 kinds of brazing. Theres aluminuim and copper. Which one do you suggest ?

I am Norwegian so i apologize for writing errors..

Attachments

• IMG_20210318_111609.jpg
    IMG_20210318_111609.jpg
    4.7 MB · Views: 25
  • IMG_20210318_112905.jpg
    IMG_20210318_112905.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 25
Thanks for all the feedback and tips. I went out and gave it a shot. Loved the way the chainsaw ran, and sounded. Might be placebo but i felt throttle response was very good.