Dolmar 120 Super

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lukethered

Reaction score
I picked up a Sachs Dolmar 120 Super for $40 today. The ad said it starts on prime so i figured for the price it was worth taking a chance.

After getting it home and taking a look, I found that the cylinder is broken on the under side. This means that my $40 risk has turned into a learning opportunity.

I'm pretty new to the chainsaw world. I installed an outdoor wood boiler this past winter and have been using a husqvarna 240 as my only saw and its too small for my needs. I would like to rebuild this 120 super for an every day runner. Is this a feasible thing to do?

Attachments

• 20220430_152939.jpg
    20220430_152939.jpg
    7.1 MB · Views: 0
  • 20220430_152116.jpg
    20220430_152116.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
The broken piston isn't a good thing, but if you can clean up the cylinder I'd say it's a worthwhile project. There should be plenty of guys here could offer advice and maybe even parts if you decide to pursue rebuilding it. I've included a link below to a quality aftermarket piston, if you're going to rebuild it I'd only use a Meteor or Dolmar piston. I'd also check the crank bearings because depending on where the piston chunks ended up you may need to replace them.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/400626817307?hash=item5d4738191b:g:AXsAAOSwgv5ZOb5p

Ok, I'll be that guy, getting a old saw like that going to mess around with is one thing, but to do all that is needed to it to depend on to feed a wood boiler to heat the house? No way.

I had a 120 Super at one time and they can be good saws, but mine had that silly injector carb on it and I sent it down the road.

Parts for those old Sachs Dolmars are very hard to find, hard enough that doing the complete rebuild on that saw isn't worth it.