Double-Walled Pipe??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
OK, now that the DAKA is installed and running properly I'm tossin' 'round the idea of stickin' the "stovace" out in the shop. I had a barrel stove in there a few years ago; just ran the single wall pipe out a window and up the back wall... was a real PITA to get it drawing from a cold start and the pipe was always plugging with creosote.

So here's the deal... I have zero experience with double-wall.
When my brother's FIL gave me the Pacific Energy Spectrum that I used to make the "stovace" he also gave me 20 feet of double walled pipe (stainless on the inside, I believe the outside is painted steel??). I'm thinkin' the best install is gonna' be to run the pipe straight up, between the rafters and through the roof. What sort of clearances to combustibles (rafters, roof decking and shingles) do I need with double-wall?? How hot does the outside of it get anyway... I mean, does it run cool enough to use a rubber boot to make the weather seal at the roof or can I just use a piece of sheet metal flashing to run the pipe through (sealed with hi-temp silicone)?? I ain't lookin' for pretty, just functional.

Is it insulated double wall? If so You need 2 inches of clearance. Its not how hot it gets, its how hot it gets when there is a chimney fire. Generally when you have a chimney fire in these, where the fire was has to be replaced. Non insulated will work like crap where you are, But better than your single wall.

I have double wall insulated and it states that it can be 1.5" away from combustibles. Others are 2"

Sheet metal at the top would be fine I think. I did that at my old place because I didn't want to pay the big price of buying the ready made piece for the roof.