Drinking on the job,do you allow it?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Drinking on the job , you allow it

NO Never. I used to be a real Drunk 80's . but not on the Job after work wahoo
Never would I work with people that were

Is this a serious question?

I'm a newbie to the site and like it a lot. But I've got to wonder, Is the guy wondering about drinking on the job (a job rated as one of the more dangerous ones), also complaining about not making enough money? A wide awake business man, committed to running a successful business would never even consider it. Questions and practices like that keep our industry in the dark ages, and some working for dirt cheap.

I guess I was pretty lucky when I started out. I lived with the first guy I started out doing tree work for. I was 21 and moved in with the guy. I think he wanted to keep me around so he would be sure that I would show up for work :).

He was the first one to put me in a tree, teach me knots and basic climbing. He was definitely a drunk but he had enough sense to not drink on the job or allow any pot smoking. His favorite saying was there's a time to work and a time to play. I kind of adopted the same philosophy. I have worked with crews since who would smoke dope on the job but I never did. I like to bring my A game when I work. I think most professionals do.

Last edited:
I'm a newbie to the site and like it a lot. But I've got to wonder, Is the guy wondering about drinking on the job (a job rated as one of the more dangerous ones), also complaining about not making enough money? A wide awake business man, committed to running a successful business would never even consider it. Questions and practices like that keep our industry in the dark ages, and some working for dirt cheap.