Ebay closed port piston for a 50/51

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WhiteHavenFarm

Tree Farmah
Reaction score
Picked up a 51 on the cheap a while back. Been a good runner but compression was down and when I pulled the muff, she was mildly scored. Considering a rebuild so I started learning about the open port versus closed port designs available in the model 55.

My 562 and the 359 do the majority of my firewood work, but I like having a beater saw for dirty dead trees and cutting low level brush. I was all set to do a basic rebuild with the larger 55 cylinder kit. Then after learning about closed port and trying to find a cheaper Kit than the $250 one on ebay, I stumbled upon this...

Husqvarna Replacement Piston w Pin Clip Rings New | eBay

Any Opinions on that piston? I know the Mahle and Husky ones had a single ring and my knowledge is a little lacking when it comes to positives and negatives of a second ring on 2 strokes. A forum search for Aurora Canvas did not turn up any results.

Thanks guys.

Last edited:
Do you have a closed port cylinder??? It doesn't look as nice as my oem one, but if there was something wrong with mine, and thats what was available.............Id run it!

Not yet, still looking. Trying to do it for less than the $250 kit on ebay. Still may be a lot to put into a saw that I only use for dirty work.

Bud I looked for two years for a cheaper alternative. Then one day a guy I know shows me two blown up huskies, both with crank issues. One of them happened to be a closed port 55. I tried to keep a poker face when I whittled him down to 20 bucks for the saw.:msp_wink: Be patient, the parts will find you!