Felling question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hinerman

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I am no felling expert by any means so this question will seem elementary to you professionals. I was cutting up some trees for a neighbor and felling a few this weekend. I cut a notch in the face with a horizontal back cut just like everybody else. My neighbor was watching and asked me this question: How come you don't angle your back cut downward?

He thought angling the back cut down toward the holding wood (or hinge) instead of cutting it horizontal would assist the tree in falling in the intended direction. I did not know the answer. I have an idea but I want to be able to give him the correct answer from a professional. I don't want him to go buy a saw, try angling the back cut, and kill himself or drop it on his house, etc. Not that he would do that but you never know.

Thanks in advance. Hinerman

There are a few good reasons for not angling a back cut .........if ya gonna wedge then the action that you want of the wedge will be negated by the angle....ie instead of lifting up and forward there by committing the stick to the face it is forcing downward and will not be as effective indeed may actually bust the hinge if it a thin one (and that ain't good lol.....)

Also you will somewhat lose the intended function of the hinge

Ya can also get into the way fibre pulls and different species react etc

Also if ya bored out the back and release the strap downward ya might lose yer saw rapidly lol

Imo in short keep the back cut level with the face

It could be your friend has seen things falled by Axe as the back cut there is different but so is the facing etc etc