Fire Building 101

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

avalancher

Arboristsite Raconteur
Reaction score
Now if you know how to build a fire, read no further and ignore me.:)

While deep in conversation with a local nurse the topic of fire starting was brought up, and after noting several burns and scars randomly scattered about my aging body, she noted that I must indeed be an expert at starting fires. In fact I am an expert at starting a fire, its putting the inferno back out that often leads me to hit “speed dial 1” commonly referred to as 911. Here are a few tips on getting that woodstove up to temp in record time.
For starters you will need to accrue the following items for a successful fire.
Kindling
Matches
Small container of accelerant, preferably diesel fuel or lighter fluid
Newspaper
Shaving razor or Nair
Large mirror

First off, go ahead and shave your eyebrows and if you feel real industrious shave off your bangs. Studies have proven that eyebrows serve no purpose whatsoever, and bangs are highly flammable. A properly built fire should start with a “whoosh” and are usually accompanied with the crisping of the eyebrows. The fine charred remains will generally stick to your forehead until you bend over your breakfast, and nothing will ruin that cheese and green bean omelet faster than charred eyebrow. If you must appear in public after starting your fire and before starting a new fire, Joan Rivers has some excellent tips on eyebrow painting. If you are squeamish about using a razor, then use the Nair.