Firewood business

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blunt

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm pretty new 'round here and I'm also really new to cutting firewood. But I have the opportunity to get into a firewood business ... give up the daily grid of an IT job ... which involves 3 hours of travel a day. I'm also a musician and partime guitar teacher to some local kids (currently 7 students).

My wife is freaking out hahaha but its not something I'm going to leap into. The business itself would cost me approx $35k New Zealand dollars to buy. I have not looked at the books etc ... just pondering the idea ... but I've been looking at a way out of IT for quite a while now and its hard to make $85k a year as a musician. But if the firewood business could be a viable partner I might give it some serious thought. I know there are local guys doing it ... and my small town of 1500 people is only a little over an hour to NZ's capital city where the city folk pay good $$$ for dry delivered forewood.:rock:

Does anyone on here do it as a fulltime living etc? What sort of output is possible? I know theres a zillion variables but some thoughts would be much appreciated.

thanks - Shayne

I for one think you are nuts

It is hard work. Big investment for little easy return. But hey that is just me.My kid can make ok Money at it. But it is not the kind of money I want to settle for.
At least around here we still have guys selling a face for 35 bucks..

small

Start small work up this way if you dont like it you can bail out early and cheap. As for full time thats alot of wood to make 85k....id treat it as a side job and nothing more untill you know u can pull in the money you need. Best of luck

What do you get for your 35K?

Things to think about...
(I don't need to know the answers, just things for you to consider...)