First Post, Chainsaw Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danrclem

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
This is my first post and I think I'm in the right place. I've already done searches here and have a few questions about buying a chainsaw. I've been burning wood for a few years now and burning it in my woodstove in my basement. It is probably 90% of my heat. I now have a cheap 40cc Poulan saw that makes me work too hard and takes too long on wood of any size. I'm going to buy a new saw and it probably is going to be a Husqvarna 359. The reason that I have chosen that saw is quality for the price. Is there any other saw that you would recommend over this one in the same price range? My questions are how do I mod the muffler? Is it necessary? I read a few posts about quality issues on this saw. Are they warrented? I'd like to buy one from a local dealer but is it worth $110.00 more buying one from a dealer than one online? That $110.00 includes sales tax that I would have to pay if I bought one locally. I also read that different suppliers give you different quality chains and bars on the same saws. Which ones are the good chains and bars and how much better are they? Would a 20" bar be a good combo with this saw? Thanks for any answers you are able to give me.

Danny