Flame me now I burn wood green and other wise

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eric Modell

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I keep hearing the mantra burn dry dry wood.
I guess I have been to poor to understand this.
When I cut wood for a living, I burned the greenest wood on earth because the rest got sold.
I would like a fancy EPA cat stove, but the rig I have burns any thing I throw at it.
I would like to have a two or three year pile but that is not happening right now.
I am thrilled to have a couple of cords of relatively green wood stacked in the the dry, we do have a indoor wood room.
The quality of the wood I cut usually would not season for a few years.
How do I turn my situation around.

Keep On Keepin' On

I keep hearing the mantra burn dry dry wood.
I guess I have been to poor to understand this.
When I cut wood for a living, I burned the greenest wood on earth because the rest got sold.
I would like a fancy EPA cat stove, but the rig I have burns any thing I throw at it.
I would like to have a two or three year pile but that is not happening right now.
I am thrilled to have a couple of cords of relatively green wood stacked in the the dry, we do have a indoor wood room.
The quality of the wood I cut usually would not season for a few years.
How do I turn my situation around.
Eric, God love Ya! At your age you're doing just fine. When I was selling wood like crazy after the oil embargo of the 70's remembering cutting green locust to burn in my Tempwood. As long as it had been dry for a spell would burn just fine. Had to keep an eye on the chimney tho. :redface:

Generally it only takes about 7-9 months too season wood well enough to burn. If you must burn it green, you don't have much choice though. I've done it when I didn't have a choice.