Hello, new here w/ some questions.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sneno77

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
First off, just wanted to say "hi" and introduce myself. I've been in love w/ chainsaws since I first remember helping my dad (faller) clean his two saws after work each day. Earliest I can remember he was running the Husky's until Stihl came out w/ the 064 and 044. He's since retired from the logging industry, but still has a couple high mileage Stihls that get regular use as firewood saws. He started me out w/ a little tree trimming saw he had and I've been hooked ever since. I'm no pro, but I've ran a saw for at least 20 of my 30yrs. I fought wildland fire for 10yrs, earning the coveted govt rating of "C sawyer". Been in some great country over the years, but finally got back close to home here in MT and am in need of a good firewood saw. I'm a bit partial to the 044, as I've packed one many miles in the woods and have never had a complaint w/ the performance. I was pretty set on trying to find a good used 44, but then I found this site and started reading about the Dolmar 7900. From what I've read, and the number listed on their homepage, it seems like the 7900 is a great pick. Most of the wood I cut is under 30", but I do find a good Doug Fir or Larch now and then that pushed the 40" mark. I need a saw w/ good power that won't mind running a 28-32" bar w/ semi-skip.
What kind of prices are the 7900's going for? I've used the dealer locater and was greatly disspointed to find that the dealer they list as 80miles from me is actually in Ohio (computer error?), and the next closest (spokane, wa) only lists lawn implements on their web site. Are these saws good enough to take a chance on, or should I stick w/ the time proven 044? Thanks.