Help me learn how to cut wood properly

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1stmale

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Ok I have all my chainsaws tuned up and sharp. Thanks for all the help with that. Great search engine!!

I still need to learn how to actually cut the wood properly. I have a 20" bar on my 359 and an 18" on the 345. When the saw is in the wood how much pressure are you supposed to put on the chain? How do I find that power band that you talk about? Are you supposed to just set the saw on the wood and let it pull itself through? I tend to want to use the spikes and put down pressure on the chain when bucking.

I have been cutting firewood for three years now. The 359 I purchased recently is my first powerful saw. I purchased this saw out of frustration with my 345 lacking power. The best thing I have learned so far is the importance of a properly sharp chain. This has helped a lot even with the 345 but I still have trouble with the chain stalling in the cut. I am wondering if I am expecting too much and pushing to hard.

Can anyone give me any links to recourses that teach people how to properly use a chainsaw. I have read the manufactures safety manual.

Your owners manual for your saws should have tips on cuttin' and buckin' wood. I know my Stihl manuals do. Even the worn out manual I have for my old McCulloch has some literature in it about cuttin' and buckin'.

Gary

when talking bout huskies, let it eat trought wood by itself and i cant stress this enough FULL THROTTLE ALWAYS... no point trying to cut with half throttle, just nail it and let it chew wood...

the 246 is an rpm saw,it needs to be in it's upper rpm range to work best.
don't lug it down by "leaning on it".with a good chain it should draw itself through the wood.
an 18" bar in hardwood is asking alot for a 45cc saw,it will do it but at it's own pace.