Help with Descending!?!?!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lukesland77

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi i am fairly new to tree work however i have been using a friction knot on a single half inch dynamic line. It works ok but the rope heats up and its kind of a shaky set up i think. I would like to get a device to decend with but i dont want anything that is A) a huge hassle to put in midline while i am up a tree B) Wrong for use in tree work. Also i worry about wearing my rope really quickly is it a good idea to use a pulley hooked to a lanyard around a limb to descend or just use while working in the tree or should i stick to just throwing the rope around a crotch? Would a belay device be a good idea for what i am doing? Thanks

should i buy an aluminum figure 8 or steel, i have a steel carabiner. Also should i get one with the little arms on the side or all rounded sides. Thanks

you can always use a munter hitch too. it works better with some ropes than others, but all you need is a biner. friction savers work great for working, but they put more friction on your climbing hitch...especially when decending. personally, i use a friction saver whenever possbile and just decend slowly.

Get a cambium saver and use a prussic loop if you are just starting out, that half hitch thing in your post seamed a bit dodgy :confused:

Jim1NZ said:
Get a cambium saver and use a prussic loop if you are just starting out, that half hitch thing in your post seamed a bit dodgy :confused:
What half hitch thing are you talking about jim?

Luke, I hope you are not descending srt with a friction hitch-way too dangerous-figure 8 works great. If you are using drt to descend, which friction hitch are you using that causes the problem?
As to a friction saver, about the only time I use it is if I have to footlock or bodythrust up a tree.